Home Contact Us    020 3239 0678  Log In  |  Join Now
Childcare Home Care Housekeeping Job Search How it Works
 
Find a   from postcode / city   Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: January 20, 2020 
 
 
 
 
  Work Availability:
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 Morning
 Afternoon
 Evening
 Overnight
 
 
 
 
 
Childcare in Glasgow
 

 

 
 
 
Tara A.
  Age 25      Glasgow G3
 
Member ID:
111849 
Seeking work as a: Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny/Housekeeper, Nanny / Tutor, Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this job offer contact details
 
  About me:
 
My compassionate and outgoing nature has always drawn me to work with children, whether it has been in an informal setting such as babysitting, nannying, or afterschool/summer camp programs. I am someone with a free and open spirit, which has propelled me to travel and live in different countries, which is what brings me to here to Scotland. Upon graduating from my undergraduate program, I worked as an au pair in Paris, France, with no prior knowledge with the French language. Despite this, I was able to teach myself and practice French to a proficient level, which faciliated my integration within the culture. As I wanted to continue experiencing differents parts of the world, I spent the past year in Scotland, studying. I have recently earned a Master of Science in Psychology at the University of Stirling. This degree enabled me to utilise my empathetic nature in an effective way. broadening my knowledge of the development and progression of mental health issues and disabilities, conjointly with their links to fundamental psychological concepts. Upon graduating, I moved to Glasgow in search of work more related to my field.

My hobbies include reading, painting, learning languages, cycling, volleyball, hiking, and skateboarding. I enjoy activities that keep me active and are outdoors. I am an only child which I believe has propelled me to be the positive, personable, and independent natured person I am today. I believe I am able to create a warm and encouraging environment for children to be creative and active. For example, while working as an environmental educator, it was my responsibility to develop lesson plans whcih sought to teach different concepts through some sort of activity, whether it was a game or an art project. I believe the key to working as a carer in any context is to maintain a person-centered approach while ensuring their safety. This is to say, developing an environment which promotes independence and being considerate to the thoughts/wants of the person you're working with. My commitment to helping others, in conjunction with educational and occupational background have propelled me to approach people who require care in a holistic manner, which I would apply to my work with you and your family.
 
 
 
Eligible to work in the UK:
No 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Language(s) spoken:
English, English, French 
 
Do You Have a Valid Driver's License?
Yes 
Automobile use:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
Work Experience 7 Yrs, references 2
I have experience working within childcare for nearly a decade now. My experiences have been both formal and informal. My earlier experiences were working with children through babysitting and swim lessons. These experiences showed me that I actually work very well with children and truly enjoy working with them. From there, I began to pursue professional experiences such as working as an after school program leader with the YMCA and working at educational summercamp programs. These opportunities exposed me to varying age groups and abilities/disabilities such as behavioral disorders and physical disabilities. While working as an environmental educator, this role required me to be specifically attuned to children who require additional assistance. I found myself taking initiative during daily camp activities to assist the children who needed extra attention. Specifically, two of my campers' stories really stand out to me from my experience. I had the opportunity to work with an eight-year old boy who had multiple sclerosis (MS). Although he was rather able-bodied, he struggled at times to keep up with the group during our nature hikes. I would stay back with him and try to create a positive atmosphere, through encouragement, jokes and companionship in a moment where he might feel a bit discouraged. Further, throughout the summer I also worked with a 7 year old boy with autism and ADHD. Often, we would find that he struggled with controlling his behaviours, resulting in inappropriate responses during social exchanges and group activities. Yet again, I found myself stepping up to be the one to take him aside and talk to him about his actions. During our conversations, I could see that he too did not understand the outbursts and why they happened. I approached him in a calm and understanding manner, explaining to him a better approach. These experiences were the catalyst to my pursuit of psychological studies and implementing my compassionate nature in a meaningful way through my occupational pursuits.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree 
I have recently graduated from the University of Stirling with an MSc in Psychology, I have gained knowledge of the development and progression of mental health issues and disabilities, conjointly with their links to fundamental psychological concepts, such as behaviour and cognition. Moreover, my educational background has provided hands-on laboratory experiences which have allowed for the implementation of knowledge gained from lectures and textbooks into a practical research setting. 
 
  Position Preferences
 
Seeking work as a:
Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny/Housekeeper, Nanny / Tutor, Mother's Helper 
Living Arrangements:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
Duties
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Start Date:
January 20, 2020 
My Salary Expectation Is
10 - 13 £ per hour 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Special Needs Children:
Yes