Home Contact Us    020 3239 0678  Log In  |  Join Now
Childcare Home Care Housekeeping Job Search How it Works
 
Find a   from postcode / city   Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: January 15, 2020 
 
 
 
 
  Work Availability:
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 Morning    
 Afternoon  
 Evening  
 Overnight              
 
 
 
 
 
Childcare in Glasgow
 

 

 
 
 
Conn M.
  Age 25      Glasgow G41
 
Member ID:
111779 
Seeking work as a: Nanny, Babysitter, Nanny / Tutor, Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this job offer contact details
 
  About me:
 
My name is Conn, I'm about to turn 25, and I'm from county Donegal in the north-west of Ireland. I moved to Glasgow this past July, as I have friends here and I wanted to experience a new city. I am currently located in Pollokshields, and I love it here.

I come from a large family - I am the eldest of six children, the eldest of 25 grandchildren on one side, and the 7th eldest of 30 grandchildren on the other. Because my mother had all six of us in the space of seven years, she needed all the help she could get, so I've been changing nappies and feeding and burping babies since I was 5 years old. My two youngest siblings, one nearly 18 and the other 19, both get very annoyed when I remind them I used to change, feed, and mind them when mam would be busy with housework. .

When I was born, my uncles were around my age or younger - now that they've married and started having kids of their own, I babysit for them when I can (provided I'm in Ireland). One of my youngest cousins had severe acid reflux from when she was 12 weeks, so I moved in with my aunt and uncle for a month to help out. She's 2 now, nearly 3, and she's bright and bubbly and full of chat. I have been missing the kids at home quite a lot recently, I didn't realise how much I would miss caring for children until emigrating (and how good I was at it. )

When I'd have a moment alone (nap time. ) my favourite thing to do was read, and I still do. I love storytelling - when I was in uni, my favourite areas of study were children's literature, fables, fantasy, and folklore. I enjoy watching animation, everything from Studio Ghibli to adult animation to the stuff I grew up with. Avatar: The Last Airbender still has a special place in my heart.

I am free to work full-time or part-time, preferrably during the day until 5pm, but I am willing to negotiate or re-consider if after school help is needed. I am able to work with kids of any age - even though I have a lot of experience with babies, my siblings still had to be minded as they grew up, and of course the cousins too. Please feel free to text me saying who you are and what your situation is, and from there we can speak on the phone or arrange to meet up to sort out the details. 
 
 
Eligible to work in the UK:
Yes 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Language(s) spoken:
English, French, Irish 
 
Do You Have a Valid Driver's License?
No 
Automobile use:
No 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
Work Experience 10+ Yrs, references 0
I have written out my experience in my biography - I will summarise here:
- Eldest of six children, due to the closeness in our ages, I have been changing nappies/feeding babies/minding
babies since I was 5 years old
- Eldest of 25 cousins on one side, 7th eldest of 30 on the other side - I still babysit when I can if I'm in the country
- Have looked after premature twins just after they were strong enough to come back from hospital for months as a teenager
- Moved in with my aunt and uncle for a month when their 12 week old daughter had severe acid reflux and sleep regression. Kept my aunt company and cooked as well as helping to care for the baby during the day.
- I have minded neighbours' children throughout my parish as well, ages varied from 3 months to 14 years, all with different interests. I have organised outings for the children and made plans for a special day once a week (every Friday we would do things like arts and crafts, bake, write stories, make up games to keep the children stimulated and to encourage creativity. ) 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, College, Bachelor's Degree 
BA in English Studies, Trinity College Dublin. 
 
  Position Preferences
 
Seeking work as a:
Nanny, Babysitter, Nanny / Tutor, Mother's Helper 
Living Arrangements:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Duties
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Start Date:
November 29, 2019 
My Salary Expectation Is
9 - 12 £ per hour 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Special Needs Children:
No 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I can provide references as needed; however, they will be relations/neighbours and not professional, as I have only been child minding while living at home when I was on a break from my part time job and studies in Dublin where I went to university.