Home Contact Us    020 3239 0678  Log In  |  Join Now
Childcare Home Care Housekeeping Job Search How it Works
 
Find a   from postcode / city   Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: June 15, 2020 
 
 
 
 
  Work Availability:
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 Morning  
 Afternoon  
 Evening  
 Overnight  
 
 
 
 
 
Childcare in Birmingham
 

 

 
 
 
Gemma M.
  Age 36      Birmingham B27
 
Member ID:
111696 
Seeking work as a: Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny/Housekeeper, Nanny / Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this job offer contact details
 
  About me:
 
I have more than thirteen years of professional experience in education, youth work and residential child care, as well as a lifetime of personal experience as the eldest of seven children, sixth in line of more than thirty grandchildren and proud Auntie to eleven nieces and two nephews. Although I have predominantly worked with secondary aged children, there have always been babies and younger children in my life, which brings me great joy. I have not been fortunate enough to have my own children but I am lucky to be a favoured and trusted babysitter for many. (I always have car seats in the car. ) I regularly take care of my nieces - I am the go-to for school craft projects and anything messy or active - and my home is filled with their photos and art work. I currently work for a busy nursery, providing care for children aged three months to five years in line with EYFS guidelines. This is easily the most enjoyable role I have ever undertaken, stretching my creativity and imagination, honing my skills to prioritise and organise, and enabling me to get to know so many little characters. My contract is zero hour so I do not have stable shifts - this is why I am looking for some more little people to support in their development, growth and pursuit of fun.

I am very much into creative activities, arts and crafts, messy play, and being outdoors. I am a huge advocate for letting children be children, allowing individuality and growth at their own pace rather than constant comparison. I believe that socialisation is just as important as academic progress for the very young. I like to be active - exploring parks, sports, silly dancing etc - but I'm also a big fan of books and reading. In my spare time I can quite often be found with my head in a book, listening to music and attending live gigs, spending time with family or planning my next travel experience.

I am trained in many areas including safeguarding, health and safety, first aid at work, supporting learning, Autism awareness and Youth Mental Health First Aid. I am on the DBS service with checks that cover children and young people. I can provide professional references as well as character references from parents and those I have previously supported as children and young people. 
 
 
Eligible to work in the UK:
Yes 
Background Check:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Language(s) spoken:
English, English 
 
Do You Have a Valid Driver's License?
Yes 
Automobile use:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
Work Experience 10+ Yrs, references 3
In terms of professional experience I have worked in education, youth work and residential childcare for more than thirteen years. I spent eight years as a member of the learning support team at a busy sixth form college, working with post 16 students who had SEN and medical requirements. I worked at a pupil referral unit for secondary aged students who had been permanently excluded from mainstream education due to SEMH issues for four years. In both positions I provided academic and pastoral support to students, one to one or in small groups, both inside and outside of the classroom. Whilst employed in these roles I took on additional part time employment, firstly as a Youth Worker with Birmingham Youth Inclusion Projects, supporting identified young people aged 7-17 who lived in areas of high antisocial behaviour and were at risk of exclusion and/or offending. During the summer holidays I was a Programme Leader for NCS: The Challenge, which included managing a team of nine staff and seventy two young people in a residential setting. This role involved outdoor activities, encouraging social mixing and social action, and teaching valuable life skills. Most recently I have worked in a nursery for babies and children aged 3 months to 5 years since February 2019. In this role I am responsible for the wellbeing and engagement of the children, encouraging and supporting their development by creating and implementing age appropriate activities.

On a personal level, I am the eldest of seven children and I was heavily involved in the upbringing of the three youngest in particular. I have been a trusted babysitter since age fourteen and as one of the first born of more than thirty grandchildren I have had regular experiences in childcare. I have eleven nieces and two nephews, all under the age of nine, who I see and take care of regularly. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Supporting Learning Level 3, First Aid at Work, Postgraduate Certificate in Writing, Youth Mental Health First Aid 
I achieved well in education, gaining ten GCSEs grade A*-B and then four A Levels at grade B. I was accepted to Warwick University to study Sociology but unfortunately my best friend began to lose a long battle with cancer and I withdrew to come home and spend more time with her. I didn't find my way back into education until a portfolio of my work earned me a place on the National Academy of Writing's postgraduate course. I my places of employment I gained qualifications/training in a range of areas including supporting learning and Autism awareness and strategies. 
 
  Position Preferences
 
Seeking work as a:
Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny/Housekeeper, Nanny / Tutor 
Living Arrangements:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
Duties
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
All considered
 
Start Date:
November 02, 2019 
My Salary Expectation Is
9 - 12 £ per hour 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Special Needs Children:
Yes 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I would be willing to discuss all requests and requirements of the parents and children, and will be honest about my abilities and skills within those areas. I am generally happy to try most things. I am vegetarian but do not mind preparing meat based meals. I am also gluten intolerant but not allergic so this would not affect food preparation.  
 
 
  References
 
Debra Mason 
Current employer since 04/02/2019. I am happy to provide further professional references. 
 
 
Avril Byrom 
Avril was my workplace mentor during the 8 years that I was employed at The Sixth Form College, Solihull (2006-2014) and we have since remained in touch. Avril is now a retired SEN teacher who tutors part time. Avril is in the unique position of knowing me both professionally and personally, therefore she is able to comment on my skills and experience as well as my character.