Home Contact Us    020 3239 0678  Log In  |  Join Now
Childcare Home Care Housekeeping Job Search How it Works
 
Find a   from postcode / city   Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: September 30, 2019 
 
 
 
 
  Work Availability:
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 Morning
 Afternoon
 Evening
 Overnight              
 
 
 
 
 
Childcare in Glasgow
 

 

 
 
 
Donna M.
  Age 21      Glasgow G52
 
Member ID:
111378 
Seeking work as a: Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this job offer contact details
 
  About me:
 
For most of my life I have always wanted to work in childcare to help inspire the minds of young children of the future. For many years I have been surrounded by children. I am the youngest of five children, and despite being the youngest, I had the privilege of becoming an auntie before the age of one and I was surrounded by babies and toddlers from then on. Being surrounded by so many nieces and nephews gave me the chance to babysit as often as possible. Occasionally I also watch my youngest nephew who has additional needs so requires one on one attention in order to provide for his essential needs. Through primary school I thrived where literacy and numeracy was involved. Whilst receiving gold stars for my own homework tasks I also enjoyed helping my nephew along the way with any homework he struggled with. In my final years I was part of a buddy system where I was in charge of students in their first year at school, to help them become settled in and help with any problems they should come across. Throughout secondary school, which I attended in Ireland, I was put on a placement in a primary school in the local community. During my time there I helped a small group of girls who struggled with English, understand the different sounds of the alphabet as well as encouraging them to put the sounds together to create words. Due to my placement being in the months before Christmas I was also able to help with school shows and help the class groups learn the songs. Throughout many summers I was also a volunteer member with the Special Olympics Ireland team, where I was a sports coach for children with additional needs. I was with a small group of children where I taught them basic balance skills to improve their skills. I was also left in charge occasionally of small groups of children where I took them on day trips to places where they would have opportunities to showcase their skills as well as having fun. After leaving school I attended college to do a level 5 NQ Playwork and a Childcare course where my placement was based in a primary where I planned and implemented activities for children aged between eight and nine. I was also able to assess their basic skills and make teachers aware of any struggles that I had become aware of. After completing this course I then went on to begin a level 6 course. For the short while I attended the course I was placed in a nursery where I worked with children aged three to five years. I was able to play games and activities with them to help them gain basic skills such as balance and communication. I also worked one on one with a child with additional needs which required a lot of patience and ability to try and improve the child’s basic skills through play and age appropriate activities. Prior to moving back to Scotland I had a babysitting job where each Saturday of every month I would look after three children under the age of six. This was a challenging job as not only was there a baby but also a young boy with autism. Despite these struggles I still managed well with these children. In my spare time I enjoy reading a good novel or singing along to music. I go on long walks most days and love going on trips to the beach or the cinema. I think I would be suitable for this job because I am a patient and reliable person which are important qualities in childcare. I believe I am a friendly, approachable and happy person, traits that are essential in childcare to ensure a child feels comfortable within your care and happy enough to approach you with any problems. I enjoy reading and singing along to my favourite songs or nursery rhymes. I have a big heart and feel like the childcare industry is where I belong. 
 
 
Eligible to work in the UK:
Yes 
Background Check:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Language(s) spoken:
English, English 
 
Do You Have a Valid Driver's License?
No 
Automobile use:
No 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
Work Experience 5 Yrs, references 2
I have been placed within a nursery setting working with children aged 0 up until 5 years. I worked within a primary school for a six month period. I volunteered within a special needs athletics camp teaching basic skills such as balance as well as working in their summer camp which I accompanied small groups on daily outings. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School, College Child Education Courses 
Passed all standard grades in high school and can supply certificate if required. Completed a level five early education and childcare course in college. 
 
  Position Preferences
 
Seeking work as a:
Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Mother's Helper 
Living Arrangements:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Duties
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Start Date:
September 30, 2019 
My Salary Expectation Is
7 - 10 £ per hour 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Special Needs Children:
Yes 
 
 
  References
 
Gillian Russell 
I babysit frequently for her daughter and nephews. 
 
 
Laura Stewart 
I looked after her two daughters for the past three years throughout the summer holidays.