Home Contact Us    020 3239 0678  Log In  |  Join Now
Childcare Home Care Housekeeping Job Search How it Works
 
Find a   from postcode / city   Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: July 02, 2019 
 
 
 
 
  Work Availability:
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 Morning  
 Afternoon  
 Evening      
 Overnight            
 
 
 
 
 
Home care Profile 
Childcare in Solihull
 

 

 
 
 
Katie S.
  Age 28      Solihull B90
 
Member ID:
110166 
Seeking work as a: Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny / Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this job offer contact details
 
  About me:
 
I am 28 year old and have extensive childcare experience, specialising in working with children who have special needs, profound multiple learning disabilities, complex medical conditions, sensory difficulties, autism, challenging behaviour and communication difficulties. I am in the pre-qualified stages of becoming a Makaton Tutor with needing to do my final assessment. I am a qualified paramedic but currently I don't practice as I have decided to take a career break. I currently work as personal assistant/ carer with several families', caring for children and young people with severe autism and profound multiple learning disabilities. In my spare time I love to be outdoors with my springer spaniel enjoying walks, I also do a lot of Scouting in and around Solihull which I love- I run a Cub pack of 28 7-11 year olds and they enjoy a wide and varied programme. I also enjoy music, singing and amateur dramatics as well as going to the theatre, thrill seeking activities and adventures, spending time with my family and friends and much more. I am extremely enthusiastic in everything I do and pride myself on my ability to be organised, plan activities, work under pressure, be adaptable and much more. 
 
 
Eligible to work in the UK:
Yes 
Background Check:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Language(s) spoken:
English, English 
 
Do You Have a Valid Driver's License?
Yes 
Automobile use:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
Work Experience 10+ Yrs, references 4
I have extensive medical experience from working as a Paramedic. I also have over 13 years of experience working in a variety of roles in special educational needs, including carer positions, teaching assistant, makaton choirs, room manager for PMLD, direct payment work, pre makaton tutor and much more. I mainly specialise in working with children who have special needs, profound multiple learning disabilities, complex medical conditions, sensory difficulties, autism, challenging behaviour and communication difficulties but many of my skills and training is transferrable. I have experience of working in special needs in educational, social care, home and community environments. I am fluent in Makaton and have some experience in Speech and Language but a lot of experience working with non-verbal, pre-verbal and communication difficulties. I do a lot of lone work within special needs, taking children out, providing respite and working through direct payments. I have experience of working with children from new-born to 19 years old young people and adults, although my preferred age is to work with new-born to 11 years old. I have lots of experience in planning and resourcing activities, planning activities to meet the needs of the child, making the most of the outdoors, using my extensive SEN experience to help in the development of the child whether it be social or educational and through play therapy and different SEN approaches. Safety, safeguarding and the wellbeing of all that I look after is at the centre of my practice. I work in a child/ person/ family centred approach.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Associates Degree, CPR Training 
I am a qualified, non practicing Paramedic. I have extensive experience in working with children with additional needs and disabilities from 6 months to 19 years of age. I am a fluent Makaton signer and in current pre-qualification stages to become a Makaton Tutor. I can also bring the following knowledge to my role (these have been gained through courses, continued professional development and online learning) • Makaton Enhanced Level Signing • Makaton Foundation Level Signing • Makaton Regional Tutor (Last assessment to do before I get full registration) • AED Training • Manual Handling- Ambulance Service • Manual Handling, skin integrity and pressure sore management • Keeping Children Safe • ASET Level 2 Certificate in the Control of Infection and Contamination • Level 1 Safeguarding Introduction • Methodist Church Safeguarding • Solihull Council Safeguarding • Hoist Training • Autism Awareness • Learning Disability Medical Training- Epilepsy management, diabetes, invasive emergency medicine, oxygen administration and use of suction. • Gastrostomy care and PEG/ NG tube feeding • Working with People who have an Autistic Spectrum Disorder • Managing Challenging Behaviour • Inclusive Play • Intensive Interaction • Conflict Resolution • Physical Restraint and Redirection (out of date) • Communication and the use of AAC and Devices • Communication and SEN within Medicine • Play Leader • Sensory play and uses in learning • Specialism in Epilepsy • Advanced Trauma Medicine • How to use Picture Exchange Communication • An introduction in the use of the TEACCH programme • MIDAS Training- Standard and accessible • ADHD Awareness • An introduction to child sexual exploitation • An introduction to the General Data Protection Regulation • Autism Awareness • Being Safe: Effective First Aid Management • Characteristics of Effective Leaders • Child neglect • Child protection in sport and active leisure • Child protection level 2 • Child protection level 3 • First Aid • Paediatric First Aid • First Aid at Work • EYFS Teaching Advanced • Recognising and supporting Children with SEN • Babysitting • Communication and the EYFS • Baby room practitioner • Medication management • Enabling a learning environment • Nannying introduction • Food hygiene and safety • Play Therapy 
 
  Position Preferences
 
Seeking work as a:
Nanny, Childminder, Babysitter, Nanny / Tutor 
Living Arrangements:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Duties
   Transporting children
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Start Date:
April 15, 2019 
My Salary Expectation Is
10 - 18 £ per hour 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Special Needs Children:
Yes